• Join
  • Login
  • GTO Twitter
  • GTO Facebook
  • 11:36:09 AEST
  • Monday, 18 February 2019

Hobartville Stakes

Hobartville Stakes 2015

Sat, 21 February 2015

Rosehill Gardens Racecourse hosts the Group Two Hobartville Stakes each year in either February or March. It is open to three-year-old colts and fillies and runs over the 1400m course. The race offers connections $200,000 in prize money and provides a good lead in run for the Group One Randwick Guineas held later in the Autumn.

Race History

Since the first race back in 1925 some big names of the turf have won the race. Three times Cox Plate winner Hydrogen won in 1950, Australian Racing Hall Of Fame inductee Todman won in 1957, Goldern Slipper winner Marscay won in 1983 and multi Group One winner Lonhro in 2002.

2014 Hobartville Stakes

Jimmy Cassidy rode Dissident to victory in the 2014 Hobartville Stakes on a wet Rosehill track. After receiving instructions to ride him forward, Cassidy parked the three-year-old second when they settled. With other favoured runners like Atlante and Savvy Nature close behind him, he took the lead in the straight. Atlante put in a strong chase but was unable to head Dissident who won paying $4 for the win. Atlante ($8.50) got second and Savvy Nature ($11) finished third.

Copyright  © 2019 S92 thegreattipoff.com | Stay in Control. Gamble responsibly.