• Join
  • Login
  • GTO Twitter
  • GTO Facebook
  • 02:50:31 AEST
  • Tuesday, 21 August 2018

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2014

Sun, 28 September 2014

Held every year at Caulfield racecourse, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group One horse race run over 1400 metres. The race is run in September under handicap conditions and is open to horses of all age groups with prize money for the race now standing at $400,000. The race is one of the key lead up races for horses targeting the Toorak Handicap and the Cox Plate in late October.


Previous winners of the race include Exceed and Excel 2003, Testa Rossa 1999, 2000, Encosta De Lago 1996 and Manikato 1978. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was first run back in 1951 over 1400 metres when it was known as the Invitation Stakes. Since then it's name has changed several times. The race was elevated to Group One class in 1979 as it remains today.


2013 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

In 2013 the winner Rebel Dane, ridden by Glen Boss, started from an outside barrier and was eased over three wide to settle midfield. At the 600 metre mark Boss pressed forward and found he had more room to attack the bend. Pulling wide on the turn he started to make very good ground on the leaders at the 300 metre mark. Over the final 200 metres it was a three way go between Rebel Dane, Fontelina on the inside and Solzhenitsyn in the middle. Rebel Dane grinded away better and got the money paying $5.50, Fotelina second at odds of $18 and Solzhenitsyn $7.50 third.

Copyright © 2018 S92 thegreattipoff.com | Stay in Control. Gamble responsibly.