Cf Orr Stakes

CF ORR Stakes 2015

Sat, 14 February 2015

The CF Orr Stakes is a weight-for-age Group One race run over the 1400m course at Caulfield. It is the first Group One race on the Victorian racing calendar and is often the first race back for many class horses starting their season in Melbourne. The race usually attracts a mix of middle distance horses and stayers who are looking to ease into their Autumn preparation. Prize money for the race in 2015 is $400,000.

Some more recognised names who have won the race over the years includ Manikato, Vo Rogue, Let's Elope, Saintly, Lonhro and Black Caviar. Two of these horses, won the race three years in a row, Manikato between 1979 - 1981 and Vo Rogue between 1988 - 1990.

In 2015 $2.35 favourite Moment of Change won the race after leading from barrier to the finishing post. He had a two length lead on the turn and looked the winner for most of his run down the straight until the final 100m when Eurozone a $6 contender charged and just failed to head him. Shamus Award was a length away third. There were only six starters in the race so no third dividend was paid.

Copyright  © 2020 S93
Stay in Control. For gambling help call 1800 858 858 or your local State gambling helpline, Gamblers Help, Mission Australia or visit
Users must be at least 18 years old. (the "site) is not a bookmaking or wagering website. As such the site does not provide bookmaking or wagering services. We are a tipping and information service site. If you choose to take tips or use information on this website, you acknowledge and agree that you will only wager with licensed service providers for your jurisdiction. For help call 1800 858 858 or visit Our full Terms and Conditions are listed here.